Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #34
0:00
-20:23

Sunday Ambient #34

Wow, I can’t believe it’s Christmas already! Hope you had a merry one! I almost forgot to post a jam today. I’ve been relaxing at home and realized only late in the day that it’s Sunday. It clicked in my mind when I sat down at my synth table to play around a bit this evening.

I probably should have something more festive for Christmas Day. However, I do record things in advance as inspiration hits and #34 ended up being a darkish drone. I kind of envision it being what you might hear on a spaceship - the hum of the warp engine maybe? Or have I just watched too many Sci-Fi shows? Well, whatever it sounds like, I find it calming and hopefully you will too.

Podcast

Did you know you can listen to my music in your favorite podcast app? Just click the Listen On dropdown menu on the track player and get a RSS link that will deliver fresh music to your podcast app once a week. How cool is that?

Patch Notes

Voices: Mother 32 (M32), Grandmother (GM)

  • Grandmother drones on D

  • Mother 32 plays slow sequence of D-E-G-C

  • A-145-4 square LFO -> A-160-2 CLOCK IN

  • A-160-2 (/2) -> M32 TEMPO & EG TRIG

  • Chaos Y -> MISO -> GM CUTOFF IN

  • Chaos X -> MISO -> GM OSC1 PITCH IN

  • Chaos Z -> MISO M32 VCF CUTOFF

  • M32 VCO PULSE -> A-132 SIG IN

  • A-132 SIG OUT -> M32 EXT AUDIO

  • EG OUT -> A-132 CV

  • Entropy INFRA -> GM Attenuator -> GM ENV AMT

  • Entropy brown noise -> GM NOISE IN

The Tools

All my gear is below. Not everything is necessarily used for each recording. I record live to my HS6 recorder. I have a DAW-less setup, although I do use GarageBand only for normalization and creating a shareable audio file.

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32

  • Moog DFAM

  • Eurorack

    • Doepfer A-145-4 LFO

    • Doepfer A-160-2 Clock Divider

    • Doepfer A-151 Seq Switch

    • Doepfer A-132 VCA

    • Zlob Chaos

    • Zlob Entropy

    • Super Synthesis EG Envelope

    • Eowave Zone B.F. LFO

    • Xodes LB5 Logic

    • Tiptop Audio MISO

  • Zoom MS-70CDR Effects Pedals

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

  • GarageBand (grudgingly)

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell