Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #31
0:00
-15:48

Sunday Ambient #31

Happy Sunday! We’ve had some cool and gloomy weather here the past couple of days. While I recorded today’s track a few weeks back, it feels appropriate for today. It’s a bit dark and slow moving, with some percussive sounds tossed in. I mean, drums are my first instrument - I can’t get anyway from hitting things, or at least making it sound like I am. Headphones on - enjoy.

Podcast

Did you know you can listen to my music in your favorite podcast app? Just click the Listen On dropdown menu on the track player and get a RSS link that will deliver fresh music to your podcast app once a week. How cool is that?

Patch Notes

  • Voices: Grandmother (GM), Mother 32 (M32), Subharmonicon (SH), DFAM

  • SH SEQ1 -> SH RHYTHM 2 (OSC 1 using 2 rhythms)

  • GM CLOCK OUT -> A-160-2 CLOCK IN

  • A-160-2 (/5) -> SH CLOCK IN

  • A-160-2 (/11, /13, /17) -> A-151 Switch

  • A-151 OUT -> DFAM ADV/CLOCK

  • A-160-2 (/2) -> M32 TEMPO

  • A-145-4 square wave -> A-151 TRIGGER

  • Chaos Y -> MISO (Attn) -> M32 VCF CUTOFF

  • Chaos X -> MISO (Attn) -> SH CUTOFF & GM CUTOFF

  • M32 GATE -> GM ENV TRIGGER (GM holding notes with envelope controlled by M32)

  • M32 VCO PULSE -> EXT AUDIO (mixed with main oscillator saw wave)

The Tools

All my gear is below. Not everything is necessarily used for each recording. I record live to my HS6 recorder. I have a DAW-less setup, although I do use GarageBand only for normalization and creating a shareable audio file.

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32

  • Moog DFAM

  • Eurorack

    • Doepfer A-145-4 LFO

    • Doepfer A-160-2 Clock Divider

    • Doepfer A-151 Seq Switch

    • Doepfer A-132 VCA

    • Zlob Chaos

    • Zlob Entropy

    • Super Synthesis EG Envelope

    • Eowave Zone B.F. LFO

    • Xodes LB5 Logic

    • Tiptop Audio MISO

  • Zoom MS-70CDR Effects Pedals

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

  • GarageBand (grudgingly)

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell