Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #30
0:00
-12:09

Sunday Ambient #30

Happy Sunday y’all! Hope everyone here in the states had a great Thanksgiving. I was thankful for a few days off from work to chill out a bit! We’re at #30 today. Wow! 30! I can’t believe I’ve spent 30 weeks doing these recordings. It’s a neat accomplishment. Hopefully I can keep it up for a full year! It’s about having some fun and learning new things, so no pressure.

This jam was almost lost. Well, actually the original was lost. Sometimes I noodle around late at night and will have the recorder running. The next day I’ll copy things I like to my system. I liked the recording that was going to be #30, but somehow it didn’t get it copied over before erasing the memory card. Doh! Luckily I take notes on my patches. Though the process of trying to recreate the patch, I found that I didn’t have enough info about the sequence to precisely recreate it. Oh well - I managed to make a new recording regardless. Maybe it’s better than the first one - or not, I can’t remember!

Keen observers of Eurorack gear will notice that I’ve added a few more modules. My rack is almost full! I’m not trying to fill out the rack for the sake of doing so. Everything I’ve got has been carefully considered. I’ve been picking up only utilitarian modules that allow me to manipulate the Moog voices. While I’m having fun with the tactile experience of Eurorack, I’m deliberately staying with the Moogs as my synth voices. Well, for now. :)

Podcast

Did you know you can listen to my music in your favorite podcast app? I didn’t until recently. Just click the Listen On dropdown menu on the track player and get a RSS link that will deliver fresh music to your podcast app once a week. How cool is that?

Patch Notes

  • Mother 32, Subharmonicon, and DFAM are the voices

  • A-145-4 square wave -> A-160-2 CLOCK

  • A-145-4 triangle wave -> SH CUTOFF (attn)

  • A-145-4 square wave -> EG Trigger

  • EG Envelope OUT -> A-132 CV

  • A-132 Sig Out -> M32 EXT AUDIO

  • Entropy Brown Noise -> A132 Sig In

  • Entropy Infra -> EG CV

  • A-160-2 (/2) -> SH CLOCK

  • A-160-2 (/3) -> M32 CLOCK

  • A-160-2 (/11 and /13) -> A-151 Switch

  • A-160-2 (/17) A-151   Switch Trigger

  • A-151 OUT -> DFAM CLOCK

  • Chaos X -> MISO (Attn) -> DFAM VCO 1 CV

  • Chaos Y -> MISO (Attn) -> M32 VCF CUTOFF

  • Chaos Z -> MISO (Attn) -> DFAM VCO 2 CV

  • A-145-4 triangle wave -> MISO (Attn) -> DFAM VCF DECAY

  • DFAM VCF EG -> DFAM VCA CV

The Tools

All my gear is below. Not everything is necessarily used for each recording. I record live to my HS6 recorder. I have a DAW-less setup, although I do use GarageBand only for normalization and creating a shareable audio file.

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32

  • Moog DFAM

  • Eurorack

    • Doepfer A-145-4 LFO

    • Doepfer A-160-2 Clock Divider

    • Doepfer A-151 Seq Switch

    • Doepfer A-132 VCA

    • Zlob Chaos

    • Zlob Entropy

    • Super Synthesis EG Envelope

    • Eowave Zone B.F. LFO

    • Xodes LB5 Logic

    • Tiptop Audio MISO

  • Zoom MS-70CDR Effects Pedals

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

  • GarageBand (grudgingly)

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell