Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #28
0:00
-12:05

Sunday Ambient #28

Happy Sunday everyone! Here’s a simple tune that I really like. I’ve enjoyed listening to it a few times during my daily commute. It has added some calm to the hectic traffic around here. Hope you like it too!

I really need to start taking better notes on these things! While I have patch notes and photos for the knob settings, this recording is one where I can’t remember exactly what I did on the sequencing. Obviously not complicated, yet I don’t think I could recreate it precisely. Ephemeral music.

Bonus Track

Fun fact - this was actually an earlier take on the patch. I thought it was a cool little peppy riff, but ultimately decided to go with something a bit more chill for the main track.

0:00
-6:19

Podcast

Did you know you can listen to my music in your favorite podcast app? I didn’t until recently. Just click the Listen On dropdown menu on the track player and get a RSS link that will deliver fresh music to your podcast app once a week. How cool is that?

Patch Notes

  • Instruments used: Grandmother, Subharmonicon, DFAM

  • A-145-4 to A-160-2 for master clock.

  • Grandmother KB out to Subharmonicon VCO2.

  • A-145-4 triangle LFO to Subharmonicon Cutoff.

  • A-160-2 (/2) into Subharmonicon Clock.

  • A-160-2 (/7) into DFAM Adv/Clock.

  • Chaos  X, Y, Z outs into A-151 Switch, then to DFAM VCF Mod.

  • Chaos trigger switches the A-151.

The Tools

All my gear is below. Not everything is necessarily used for each recording. I record live to my HS6 recorder. I have a DAW-less setup, although I do use GarageBand only for normalization and creating a shareable audio file.

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32

  • Moog DFAM

  • Eurorack

    • Doepfer A145-4 LFO

    • Doepfer A160-2 Clock Divider

    • Doepfer A-151 Seq Switch

    • Zlob Chaos

    • Tiptop Audio MISO

  • Zoom MS-70CDR Effects Pedals

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

  • GarageBand (grudgingly)

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell