Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #21
0:00
-10:12

Sunday Ambient #21

Today’s track is a fairly simple jam that I put together quickly during a busy workweek. I picked up a used Mother 32 on the cheap recently and haven’t really figured it out just yet. It’s not something I felt that I particularly needed since I have the Grandmother. The patch panel offers a lot of interesting options though and the price was right.

This is my last recording with the Strymon Nightsky. While I was initially pretty excited about it, I discovered that I only really liked a narrow range of its features. Given the unplanned acquisition of the Mother 32, I really couldn’t justify keeping the Nightsky, so I took it back to Guitar Center. I’ll be sticking with my inexpensive, yet quite powerful Zoom MS-70CDR for effects.

Bonus Track

The bonus track is actually my first take with the patch. I ended up feeling that the Subharmonicon was a bit too percussive. It’s OK for some background music at a low volume I think. Maybe you’ll like. I’m a little “meh” about it.

0:00
-9:30

Instrumentation and Recording Tools

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32

  • Strymon Nightsky (reverb)

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

Patch Notes

GM KB OUT -> MOD RATE IN

GM MOD WAVE OUT -> GM ATTN

GM ATTN -> GM MULT

GM MULT -> GM CUTOFF IN, SH CUTOFF

GM CLOCK OUT -> SH CLOCK IN

SH SEQ2 -> M32 VCO IN

SH SEQ2 CLK -> M32 GATE

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell