Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #15
0:00
-7:06

Sunday Ambient #15

I’m having a blast exploring interconnections between my Moog synths. This was a fun bit that came about through some experimentation. I’m learning more about patching things and there is a good bit of patching across the modules here. It’s so easy to get lost for a few hours. I need that right now.

Headphones on. Enjoy!

Instrumentation and Recording Tools

  • Moog Grandmother

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog DFAM

  • Zoom MS-70CDR (reverb)

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

Patch Notes

  • SH VCO 1 -> DFAM VCO 1 CV

  • SH CLOCK -> DFAM ADV/CLOCK

  • SH VCF EG -> VCF DECAY

  • DFAM VCO EG -> DFAM VCA CV

  • DFAM VELOCITY-> VCF MOD

  • DFAM PITCH -> GM ATTENUATOR IN

  • GM ATTENUATOR OUT -> GM MULT

  • GM MULT -> GM ENV AMT IN

  • GM MULT -> GM CUTOFF IN

  • GM MULT -> SH VCO2 PWM

  • GM KB OUT -> GM MOD RATE IN

  • GM MOD WAVE OUT -> GM NOISE IN

  • GM VCO 2 FREQUENCY TUNED UP A 7TH

  • GM MOD RATE TUNED TO AUDIO RATE FOR A 3RD VCO

Alternate Version

I recorded an initial version where I was modulating the Cutoff filter on the Subharmonicon, rather than the VCO2 pulse width modulation. I decided it was a bit too much in the higher frequencies for the sound I had in mind. Actually, I decided that while listening to it in my car during my commute. Things can sound quite different between studio quality headphones and crappy factory speakers in a car. This is a learning process for me and since it was already “on tape” I thought what the heck, I’ll post it as well. Maybe you’ll like it better.

0:00
-10:13

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell