Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #43
0:00
-20:17

Sunday Ambient #43

It’s Sunday, time for an ambient jam! Things have changed a bit in the gear department. I decided to part with my Moog Grandmother. While I do love the sound of that synth, it just didn’t seem practical for the type of music I’m making. It took up a large section of the small table I have to work on. I found myself liking the sound of the smaller keyboard-less Mother 32 just as much and its patching options are more useful to me in my setup that is trending toward more modular components.

In place of the Grandmother, I now have a second Mother 32. Additionally, I picked up a used Eurorack case and a few more modules. Today’s jam is a sort-of generative piece that uses one new module, the Qu-Bit Bloom. It’s a so called “fractal sequencer” that is intriguing to the engineering part of my brain.

Patch Notes

Voices: Mother 32 x 2

Bloom sequencer drives both Mother 32 synths.

  • Bloom OUT 1 -> M32-1 VCO 1V/OCT

  • Bloom GATE 1 -> M32-1 GATE

  • Bloom OUT 2 -> M32-2 VCO 1V/OCT

  • Bloom GATE 2 -> M32 GATE

  • Chaos X -> MISO -> Bloom ROOT CV

  • M32-2 GATE -> EG TRIG

  • Chaos Z -> EG CV

  • EG OUT -> A-132 CV

  • A-132 SIG OUT -> M32-2 EXT AUDIO

  • M32-2 VCO PULSE -> A-132 SIG IN

The Tools

All my current gear is below. Not everything is necessarily used for each recording. I record live to my HS6 recorder. I have a DAW-less setup, although I do use GarageBand for normalization and creating a shareable audio file.

  • Moog Subharmonicon

  • Moog Mother 32 (2)

  • Moog DFAM

  • Eurorack

    • Doepfer LC9 case

    • Doepfer A-145-4 LFO

    • Doepfer A-160-2 Clock Divider

    • Doepfer A-151 Seq Switch

    • Doepfer A-132 VCA

    • Doepfer A-148 S&H

    • Doepfer A-156 Quantizer

    • Zlob Chaos

    • Zlob Entropy

    • Super Synthesis EG Envelope

    • Eowave Zone B.F. LFO

    • Xodes LB5 Logic

    • Tiptop Audio MISO

    • ZeroScope Oscilloscope

    • Qu-Bit Bloom

    • WMD/SSF Atten (2)

    • After Later Audio Dice

  • Zoom MS-70CDR Effects Pedal

  • Eventide Blackhole Reverb Pedal

  • Eventide Ultratap Delay Pedal

  • Mackie Mix8 mixer

  • Zoom HS6 recorder

  • GarageBand (grudgingly)

0 Comments
Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell