Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Sunday Ambient #109
0:00
-5:19

Sunday Ambient #109

Image created with Midjourney

Happy Sunday! I’ve got another jam for y’all today using a new module I’m trying out. That’s the thing with modular. It encourages experimentation with different bits of hardware since it’s easy enough to change things out. My case gets shifted around a good bit as I trade or buy things in search of “that” sound. One thing I have learned; I like playing around with sine waves - so simple, so versatile. To that end, my musical contraption evolves.

I’ve got something else new to share today. For a number of years, I dabbled in photography. At some point during the pandemic years I ended up sticking my camera in a closet where it sat for too long. I can’t say that I have a strong urge to make still photographs currently. Perhaps that passion will return someday. For now, I decided to try something new.

I took my camera to a local camera store and traded it for something that is more video focused. The new camera is compact and has the ability to do some nice slow motion video capture. I decided I want to try my hand at creating videos that I might use with my musical compositions. Honestly, I have no specific ideas about what this will look like. I have to start somewhere, so I’m sharing a clip I created in my front yard. It will take a while to figure out the video side of things. I know zip, zilch, nada about video. So much to learn - it’s a very different workflow from still imagery. While I don’t see this being a weekly addition to my postings here, I hope to share something once in a while. No pressure.

Patch Notes

New to the case is a Make Noise Spectraphon. This is a complex beast that is going to take me a while to get my head wrapped around. I’m only scratching the surface so far. It’s the main voice, driven by Moskwa II, with Pams doing the clocking. Popple provides some LP filtering. 4ms STS and uBraids do some percussive bits, triggered by Erfurt. Octasource modulates stuff. Mimeophon does the delay and FX Aid does the reverb.

Discussion about this podcast

Ambient Noodles
Ambient Noodlings
Modular musical meanderings
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Michael Connell